The importance of Names! - Issue #9

Hello Explorer,

My professors always told us how important Scientific names are and that without Linnaeus binomial system biology would not be possible. Even though I have known this for very long now, I have only grasped the full importance of it in the last week!

I have been doing research on Myrmeleontidae, which locally is commonly known as Ant lions. After many web searches, it seemed like there is not a lot of information available on them. It was only after reading a scientific paper from the US, that I discovered the fact, that Myrmeleontidae is commonly known as Doodlebugs in the US. They call them Doodlebugs due to the paths they leave behind with their digging. Yes, I'm working on an ant lion video currently, and if all goes well you will see it this week!

In life we can often only understand the importance of something once we can see the results of what would happen without it!

Weekly Top Shot: Beauty from afar!

The latest Video: The Spider hunter!

Mantispids are Arachnophobes best friend!They have very intricate and specialized eating habits during larval development!Follow me onTwitter: https://twitte...

The beginning of wisdom is this: Get wisdom. Though it cost all you have, get understanding. - Proverbs 4:7