Just because it looks so cool! – Issue #82

I’ll let it stay a little while longer.

Hello Explorer,
Two weeks ago in “Perfectly hidden – Issue #80” I wrote to you about the juvenile Blue-legged Sylvan Katydid (Zabalius ophthalmicus) that was busy enjoying my Peter’s Fig (Ficus petersii) (See photos below). After a question on what I will do to the Katydid after discovering it I decided to share a bit more about what one of the biggest challenges are that true entomologists face! To explain this, we will return to the Blue-legged Sylvan Katydid, who is still enjoying the leaves of my Peter’s Fig tree.
Over the last two weeks I have been checking up on the Katydid daily, to ensure that is still there and doing well. I have even considered moving it to a branch with more leaves on, but I did not do this as I don’t want to disturb the Katydid and risk having it move away. All this because the Katydid, when full grown (see photo below), is a very beautiful insect, even though Katydids, grasshopper, crickets, and their kin is not of interest to me, I still admire the beauty of most of them.
And this is where true entomologists run into the biggest challenge there is. Explaining to people, and in my case, it is often farmers or avid gardeners, that they have a serious pest issue. True entomologists often see the greatness of the insects and get so caught up in how magnificent it is that they can reach massive population sizes and that they aggregate in their thousands, the passion and excitement might be perceived in the wrong manner.
No farmer wants to hear how “Epic”, “Awesome”, “Cool”, or “Magnificent” the pest is, but rather wants to hear how bad the infestation or damage is that they are causing. During my studies my one Professor taught me never to say, “This is so epic, look at how perfectly they utilize the food!” but that one should rather, for the sake of the farmer, say “The infestations levels are very high, and we should treat this as soon as possible to prevent any economic damage from occurring to the crop.” Quite a difference.
To this very day this is still my biggest challenge, explaining the problem instead of the greatness of a species that is seen as a pest.
I do easily see and understand the implications that pests have on the production, exportability, quality, and ultimately profit the crop will yield, but as a true entomologist I still see the magnificence of creation, even in the pest species. This is a trait that I personally hope I would never unlearn or loose, yes pests they cause damage, and they must be stopped, but what is the use of getting negative and upset? Let’s rather look at insect pests with admiration and learn something new (while getting them under control again).
And that is why the Blue-legged Sylvan Katydid juvenile will be allowed to live to adulthood on my Fig tree, but once it is full grown it will however be evicted, and if it refuses to leave, it will be staying with me on a very permanent basis 😉.

If you would like to send me a message with your answers, feel free to do so on Instagram @abugmanslife or via email to [email protected].

The juvenile Blue-legged Sylvan Katydid (Zabalius ophthalmicus) that lives on my Peter’s Fig (Ficus petersii), two weeks ago when I initially wrote to you about it.

The juvenile Blue-legged Sylvan Katydid (Zabalius ophthalmicus) that lives on my Peter’s Fig (Ficus petersii), as of earlier today! Note how the Katydid is folding in its antennae under its body to prevent them from being damaged.

An adult Blue-legged Sylvan Katydid (Zabalius ophthalmicus) that I caught at the front door and photographed over the weekend, before letting it go again. Here you can see the beauty of these Katydids once they reach adulthood.

The mouth of the righteous is a fountain of life,
but the mouth of the wicked conceals violence.

Proverbs 10:11