Sighting of a Lifetime – Issue #109

It was there for but a moment.

Hello Explorer,
Last weekend I had the exhilarating experience of witnessing a new insect group or order for the first time in my life! Believe it or not I have not even seen one living specimen from each of the larger groups of insects.
Insects are divided into larger groups called orders, based on their characteristics, like wing type, number of wings, mouthparts, or metamorphosis. South Africa has a total of 27 insect orders that range from jumping bristle tails (ARCHEOGNATHA) (the most primitive) all the way through to the Wasps, bees and Ants (HYMENOPTERA) (the most advanced of the insects).
One would think that entomologists, especially basic biology entomologists such as myself would have seen all 27 insect orders alive, but you would be surprised, as a few of these orders are very rare. Some being very small obligatory parasites such as the STEPSIPTERA or Twisted wing insects, who are obligatory parasites of wasps, bees, and/or ants, and the lodge themselves between the exoskeleton plates of the abdomen, and most of the times when you extract one it is killed because of the extraction. Some have very specific habitat requirements such as crystal-clear water that is at the ultimate of fresh pure unpolluted water such as the PLECOPTERA or Stoneflies, which are found in and around the high mountain streams of the Drakensberg.
The insect order I saw for the first time last weekend is the MECOPTERA or Hangingflies. I had the privilege of seeing one, but only for a few seconds before it escaped, and I missed my opportunity to catch it. Now if you see a photo, you will think that you have seen them many times before, but I can with certainty say that what you saw are Craneflies or Long-Legged Mosquitoes from the family Tipulidae and the order DIPTERA or the True Flies order. (For those interested in Scientific writeup, the correct way to type out a species names are as follows: Tipula josoca (DIPTERA: Tipulidae)
While Tipulidae and MECOPTERA might briefly look similar, there is one clear and stark difference between them: Tipulidae have 2 wings and 2 halteres – reduced wing stubs, while MECOPTERA has 4 wings. Until I saw the MECOPTERA last weekend I always thought that it would be very difficult to see the 4 wings, but after last weekend I can tell you that when you see a MECOPTERA flying you will have no doubt in your mind that it has 4 wings. You can see it clearly and the flying ability of the MECOPTERA will also be a tell-tale sign.
I unfortunately did not have my camera with me or even enough time to take a photo of the MECOPTERA with my phone, but I had a witness that saw it with me.
If you’re wondering, Yes, I will be heading back to that location with the prayers of finding one to photograph and collect for my insect collection.
I have now seen a total of 24 out of the 27 insect orders in South Africa alive, and I have managed to collect a total of 23 of the orders. Remaining to find are STREPSIPTERA, PLECOPTERA, and ZORAPTERA (Angelwinged insects).
Did you know that there are larger groups of very rare insects? What is the coolest or rarest insect you have ever seen in your life (most likely one you have only seen once in your lifetime)?

If you would like to send me a message with your answers, feel free to do so on Instagram or Twitter @abugmanslife or via email to [email protected].

This is a common yet often overlook Natal Pansy butterfly (Junonia natalica). It is always astonishing to me how often we see species like this, and frequently fail to see their beauty.

How many are your works, Lord! In wisdom you made them all; the earth is full of your creatures.

Psalm 104:24