Teaching a love for nature – Issue #62

Why should we teach children a love for nature!

Hello Explorer,

At the end of last year, I had the great privilege of visiting two schools and teaching the kids about insects. At both schools the teachers were impressed, with the fact that I could keep the attention of the kids for over an hour, without them getting restless and overly energetic. But I honestly don’t believe it was my skill or ability to capture attention, but rather the kids’ fascination with the insects that allowed them to sit still for so long.

Through this I realized how important it is to teach a love for nature and wildlife, irrespective of its size, to children at a young age. In a day and age where we are ever more disconnected with nature it is of utmost importance that we should put time and effort into teaching the children about nature.

Growing up my parents allowed me to catch insects, spiders, lizards, and frogs, and to keep all of these in the house. I know that by allowing and assisting me to catch, identify, keep, and observe insects they have laid the foundation of the love for nature that I have today.

When I was four and a half years old my parents took us to the National Insect Collection, where a family member was working as an entomologist. Seeing all the insects and the great diversity of insects in the world that day blew my mind and it set me on the path to becoming an entomologist.

What I learned with the two school talks that I gave, is that we fear, talk bad about, or react negative in any way towards an insect the kids fear it and they do not want to come near. While if we talk good and react positively to an insect the kids will fall in love with them. This I saw clearly with showing the kids the difference between pest, non-pest, and pet cockroaches. The American cockroach (Periplaneta americana) that I showed and explained that they were bad, and we don’t like it, no one wanted to hold it or even pick up the tub they were in. The small non-pest Red Headed Cape Cockroaches (Oxyhaloa duesta) they didn’t care much about and didn’t care if they got fed to praying mantids or other insects. They also didn’t really care to see them in the tub or try and hold them. The Madagascar hissing cockroaches (Gromphadorhina portentosa) on the other hand, I explained cannot live without us and will die if they escape, and that they make great pets, all the kids, including the ones that are scared to death of insects, wanted to hold them, and rub their back. What was the difference between the three roaches? Only the way I introduced them to the kids and how I talked about them.

Therefore, next time you see kids around and there is a massive harmless spider in the house, stick your fear in your pocket, catch the spider and set it free outside without harm, and the kids will follow your example without fear.

If you would like to send me a message with your answers, feel free to do so on Instagram @abugmanslife or via email to [email protected].

Weekly Top Shot: The Red Head!

A Red Headed roach! The name becomes quite clear once one sees this beautiful specimen!

A Red Headed roach! The name becomes quite clear once one sees this beautiful specimen! - © Ludwig "BugMan" Eksteen

How can a young man cleanse his way? By taking heed according to Your word.

Psalm 119:9